Trailer Tuesday: Seven Psychopaths

Yes, it is late on Tuesday making it an almost Trailer-Wednesday. And yes, my promised post on critics and audience is long overdue but I’m in a transition period especially because school is starting. Be patient. I’ll be more consistent. 

What I love about movies is ORIGINAL screenplays with the writer of said screenplay directing it. It’s something special when an artist with a vision can directly translate his/her vision to the screen without any kind of expectations from previous source material or anyone else’s biases to get in the way. Martin McDonagh is the man behind Seven Psychopaths. I’m not crazy about his history but mostly because there isn’t any. In Bruges seems to be his only cinematic endeavor and I haven’t even heard of that film before writing this article.

Take a look and tell me what you think.

What is drawing me toward this movie is the direct and self-conscious absurdity that it has. I mean, the inciting incident involves the petnapping of a shiatsu. Mix that in with loose-cannoned characters with guns, it then promises to be a crazy ride.

Starring Colin Farrell, Woody Harrelson, Sam Rockwell, and Christopher Walken and is slated to his theaters mid-October.

Leave a Reply

